Harajuku Halloween

nov15_01a

I don’t usually celebrate Halloween as it’s not much of a tradition in the Czech Republic but as a student of English I naturally have the chance to get involved somehow. I love to dress up but I’m not really a party animal so I usually end up not doing anything special on the day. However, this year I’m doing a course with one of my favourite teachers who is crazy and fun enough to dress up (and have her students dress up) just for the one last October lesson.

nov15_01b

It took me a bit to think of the appropriate costume because I didn’t really want to buy anything crazy for the purpose of wearing it for mere 90 minutes. But then my newly-discovered enthusiasm for Asian fashion and culture kicked in, and I decided to dress up as a Japanese harajuku/decora girl:nov15_01e

I happen to have all sorts of colourful headbands, hairclips, stickers and other knick-knacks which nicely correspond with the style. To reach perfection I’d have to dye my hair a really bright colour (my dark pink has already washed out, sadly) and get lovely big eye contacts but I did my best to be as kawaii as possible!

nov15_01c

Leave a comment