Vasa 1628

may_06a

You might have noticed that I have a thing for canvas bags. Totes, in other words. It seems that they’ve always been around – I think I used my very first one for my PE stuff when I was at primary school, and back then it was just an efficient way to carry things around. That one wasn’t even pretty, it was just a promo bag of a pharmaceutical company. However, in the last three years I’ve accumulated quite a collection, starting with the tote that appeared in my previous post – Botanical Gardens in Kew, a gift from my boyfriend.

may_06b

The one appearing in these pictures is from the Vasa Museet in Stockholm, a souvenir I bought at the Swedish museum where a large old ship Vasa is kept and being restored all the time. If you ever go to Stockholm, I definitely recommend visiting it – even if you are not particularly interested in ships. It is such a beautiful and amazing piece of history that it would be a shame not to go.

Leave a comment